The Game’s Afoot at the Baytown Little Theater

Baytown Little Theater proudly presents The Game’s Afoot written by award winning playwright, Ken Ludwig and directed by Joy Woods. The story begins in December 1936 and William Gillette, admired the world over for his leading role in the play, Sherlock Holmes, has invited his fellow cast members to his Connecticut castle for a weekend of revelry. The festivities quickly turn dangerous when one of the guests is stabbed to death. Gillette dons the iconic cap and pipe taking on the persona of super sleuth, Sherlock Holmes, to track down the killer before another victim appears. The ensemble cast of The Game’s Afoot will keep you on the edge of your seat with laughter and intrigue as they fumble and scheme to resolve this hilarious murder mystery.

Joining veteran actor and director, Joy Woods, will be John Meiners as William Gillette, Julia Jay as Martha Gillette, Mackey Skinner as Felix Geisel, Patti Meiners as Madge Geisel, Drew Abbott as Simon Bright, Christine Jones as Aggie Wheeler, Tammy Woods as Inspector Goring and Koni Hovater as Daria Chase.

A champagne opening night will be Friday, April 11 at 8:00 p.m., with additional evening performances April 12, 18, 19, 25, & 26, also Sunday matinees, April 13 & 27 at 2:30 p.m. All seats can be reserved online at or by calling the BLT box office (281-424-7617) and leaving your name, phone number and a brief message. One of our box office volunteers will return your call as soon as possible.

Remembering Jackie Hooper Fuller

The Baytown Little Theater lost a great, longtime leader, advocate, and mentor when Jackie Hooper Fuller passed away in Louisville, Kentucky, on Wednesday, February 26.

Jackie will be long-remembered for her vibrant spirit and unceasing care and contributions to the success of BLT. Whether as a director, actress, board or committee member, or all-around recruiter and encourager, she was at the heart of everything that we did since shortly after the founding of the theater in 1961.

“She was a delight to direct or to be directed by,” said Kim Martin, current BLT president. “And she looked after the well-being of others. Everyone who came into the theater was a person to be welcomed, nourished, and encouraged.”

BLT members and other friends in the community will have an opportunity to gather and remember Jackie together this Friday, March 14, at 2:00 PM at St. Mark’s Methodist Church, 3811 N. Main St.

Jackie’s daughters, Margie, Mary, and Billie, have asked that those who wish to remember Jackie with a donation gift do so to the Baytown Little Theater or the Kidney Foundation. Donations to the theater may be made by clicking here or mailing a donation to BLT, P. O. Box 2022, Baytown, TX 77522-2022.

From the President: Welcome to the New Website

As we prepare to welcome in our new 2014 season, I want to take this opportunity to welcome you to our new website. Much careful planning has gone into the new design, setup, and transition to this site. Big thanks to Kenny Wade, chairman of the BLT Technology Committee. Kenny is a hardworking, creative, and highly dependable professional who has made an outstanding contribution to our ongoing efforts to support the work of our volunteers and keep all of our technology working, especially our web presence. It could not have been done without him.

I also want to take this opportunity to send warm thanks to Dwayne Bailey for continuing his support and contributions to BLT, even while he has spent the last two-plus years living in New Jersey. Through their care and conscientious preparation, he and Wendy left our website in great shape when they moved away, and they have continued to help us from afar, answering questions, hosting the site, and providing tech support as needed. This allowed us to carefully plan and execute the steps necessary to take more responsibility for work that they had so lovingly done while they were here. People like the Baileys and Kenny Wade are exactly why working at Baytown Little Theater is so rewarding. Thanks to all of you.